Water Distribution Services

Cobb County

The Cobb County Water System (CCWS) distributes potable water in the unincorporated portions of the county and in the City of Acworth via the purchase agreement in 1987 portions of the majority of the cities within Cobb County. The CCWS has approximately 142,000 146,400 customers (roughly 450,000) persons). It maintains some 2,470 miles of water lines and 13,370 fire hydrants. The CCWS service area includes a normal operating pressure zone and three high pressure zones. The normal operating pressure zone consists of the areas in the CCWS service area with ground elevations below 1,150 feet. Because of variations in ground elevation, the operating pressure in the normal zone varies between 40 and 200 psi. Approximately 95% of the CCWS service area is in this normal pressure zone.

The Cobb County-Marietta Water authority maintains one high pressure zone, the Blackjack Mountain High Service Area (Groover Tank). The CCWS has recently obtained the Sweat Mountain High Service Area from the Authority, and has completed construction for the Lost Mountain High Service Area. For the Sweat Mountain High Service Area, water service is provided to a ground elevation of 1,447 feet. In the Blackjack Mountain High Service Area, water service is provided up to an elevation of 1,257 feet. In the Lost Mountain High Service Area, water service is provided up to an elevation of 1,400 feet. Booster pumps are used to lift water from the normal operating pressure zone to the storage tanks for Sweat Mountain, Lost Mountain and Blackjack Mountain.

The Cities of Marietta, Smyrna, Kennesaw, Powder Springs, and Austell distribute water within their water and sewer service area boundaries. The attached map shows these generalized service areas. A summary reference chart of these service agreements is attached. The City of Kennesaw and Cobb County are, however, negotiating the purchase of the City of Kennesaw's Water and Sewer system by the County and anticipate public hearings to consider and approve the sale of such system. The CCWS distribution system is used to transmit water to these municipal systems. The flow between each system is measured at master meters, which are located at the service boundaries. The CCWS maintains these meters. In some instances the boundaries extend beyond the corporate limits; in other cases the county water system serves areas within city limits. These unique instances could represent a duplication of services. In 1991, a Report of the Analysis and Computer Modeling of Cobb County's Water Distribution System was prepared by Metcalf & Eddy, Inc. (ME). The CCWS is currently preparing an update to this analysis.

Unless otherwise specified by the individual water and sewer boundary agreements existing between Cobb County and its municipalities; or as may be dictated by other legal instruments/agreements, any extraterritorial water and sewer service extensions shall be agreed upon by both parties and consistent with the respective comprehensive plans.

City of Austell

The Austell Water Department purchases water from the Cobb/Marietta Water Authority. This department consists of two (2) maintenance workers, two (2) meter readers and a billing clerk. The city maintains its own water and sewer lines. This service is funded from user fees and the General Fund.

City of Kennesaw

Kennesaw distributes drinking water purchased from Cobb-Marietta Water Authority & Cobb Water System. The city serves approximately 3,500 customers. This service is funded by fees for service. The City of Kennesaw and Cobb County are negotiating the purchase of the City's Water and Sewer system by the County and anticipate public hearings to consider and approve the sale of such system

City of Marietta

Service Provided: Marietta Water provides water distribution and meter reading services to customers inside and outside the City of Marietta. Marietta provides water distribution service in a portion of unincorporated Cobb. The Marietta water distribution area is the existing boundary lines except that Marietta may extend outside that boundary to serve a property in the city which is in the county service area that the county declines to serve. Map of Service Area: Water distribution service is provided to almost all areas of the City of Marietta. In addition, water is distributed to customers outside the city limits. (See attached Marietta Water Boundary Map)

Funding Provided: Funding is provided through the Board of Lights and Water (BLW) Enterprise Fund.

City of Powder Springs

Powder Springs provides this service within a defined service area. User fees fund the service.

City of Smyrna

Smyrna provides this service per the 2004 agreement. User fees fund the service.

The City of Smyrna obtains their water supply from the Cobb Marietta Water Authority. The City of Smyrna Water System is metered at this point. The city distributes their water supply by way of distribution piping varying from 2" piping through 12" piping. Customer water supplies are made from the distribution piping by way of service taps. Customer service taps end at the right of way with a meter set. Water piping beyond the meter set is the customer's responsibility. The City of Smyrna stocks all parts and material to repair or maintain its water system including meters and back-flow preventors.

The City of Smyrna Water System is not confined to our municipal boundaries nor are our municipal boundaries confined to the Smyrna Water System. The City of Smyrna Water System defines the limits of our sanitary sewer distribution system.

G:\Temp0004\Service Delivery Strategy info\Water Distribution Services Summary form Kennesaw alternate.DOC